ADNC Neurofeebck Center
Achieve of One's Full Potential Through
Brain-Based Self-Regulation Techniques

Clinical Findings, Outcomes, & Testimonials

40 year old woman with Depression, Anxiety, Migraines, Sleep Disorder, and Brain Fog Clinical Findings

Clinical Findings
31 symptoms were reported on the checklist. With a history of PTSD, several job changes, prolonged unemployment, and complete reliance on her family for assistance and sustinance, this woman was able to ultimately secure a rewarding positions with a major transit company, relocate within a few days, and completely transform her health, wellbeing, and life.

Initially, her attitude was "nobody will give me a job", "I don't fit in", "What's the point?" She felt sluggish, didn't want to even go out for a walk, and felt she "was a burden on my family". She had experienced 2 years of sleep walking, verbal abuse from her patner with boarderline personality disorder, and had a history of anorexia.

Outcomes

Reported Symptoms
The client reports she feels much better now, though she does experience moments of anxiety having to have worked so hard to secure a professional position with this major transit company that I have been trained for. She managed to reduce her 31 symptoms to 24, a 22.5% reduction in severity and a 25% improvement.

DASS
The depression, anxiety, stress scale (DASS) improved 35.7% in depression, 23% in anxiety, and 21.6% stress after 27.7 sessions over 3 months. By the end of training in 55.7 sessions over 6 months and despite having to relocate without sufficient notice to another province, the client still maintained a 50% improvement in her symptoms of depression, 62% in anxiety, and her stress increased from the need to transition back to work in a new city requiring relocation but was still 11% lower than her initial presentation, down from 36% improvement just 1 session 2 weeks prior.

The Test of Variables of Attention (TOVA) ADHD score from abnormal at -1.33 to normal at 2.38 within 55.7 sessions over 37 visits. Her opinion of her symptoms improved 25% within 26 sessions enabling her to join her familiy in celebrating her brother's marriage overseas in China despite exacerbating her stress and anxiety upon her return and facing.

The Behavioural Rating Scale improved from 42 to 38 within 30 sessions, a 9.5% improvement or a 32% improvement from 56 at her most intense point of her symptoms and challenges prior to securing her new career position.

The Wender-Utah score of 14/46 criteria reduced to 9/46 or 35% improvement and concluded training with a 12/46 final criteria or a 14% overall improvement. Her Adult ADHD Self Report Scale (ASRS-v1.1) improved 25% from 4/4 to 3/4 of the criteria and no longer meet the ADHD criteria within 31 sessions over 19 visits.

Procedures:
The frontal lobe Fz right side reference was producing 2.34 more theta in comparison to beta on it's evaluation and over time increased in speed 75% to 1.38. Her right frontal lobe F4 was even slower in ratio at 2.42 and increased in speed to a 1.64 ratio of theta to beta. A 32% increase in speed after only 4.9 sessions over 3 visits of training that specific site over the course of 10 sessions or 7 visits. Her F3 left frontal lobe was initially 1.44 in ratio of theta to beta and slowed to 1.8 after a stressful and unpredicatable trip to China then was sped up again 19.4% to 1.45 after she secured a base monthly income to survive on apart from her families support finally achieving some independence at 40 years old. 12 sessions were carried out on her frontal Fz site with an A1 left ear reference. 10 sessions were carried out on her frontal Fz with an A2 right ear reference. 5.4 sessions were carried out on her right frontal lobe F4 with an A2 right ear reference. 7.8 sessions were carried out on the left frontal F3 site with a left ear reference. The frontal lobe was the area of focus for this individual in an attempt to improve her executive management, organisation and planning functions.

Her sensory motor strip was faster in activity with a ratio of 1.31 of theta to beta on the Cz right side reference, and 1.39 on the Cz left side reference. Her C4 right temporal lobe had a ratio of 1.08 theta to beta and the left side was similar at 1.11. Only 6.4 sessions were subsequently carried out on the left hemisphere Cz training site with an A1 reference, and 3.7 sessions on the right side Cz site with a A2 reference. 3.75 sessions were carried out on the right temporal lobe C4 site, A2 right ear reference. 2.5 sessions were carried out on the left temporal lobe C3 site, A1 left ear reference. The sensory motor strip was not the area of focus for this client given her symptoms and the neurophysiological findings.

Summary
Overall, this woman made huge gains from being at the point of helplessness and based her options of her self completely according to how she perceived other's opinion, to being a completely independent and confident in knowing she can achieve the goals she desires. She is hopeful that in time, she will also find the companionship that she is looking for. Her migraine intensity subsided and she felt she was now more effective at dealing with uncertainties.

Client's Opinion
The client reported that she "liked that our Centre was flexible, down to earth, and not aloof." "You responsed fast, and were the lowest price". She liked our professional approach. Though at times she could not say the feedback was working, but knew that she was best to wait until the feedback had reached the 40 hour treatment point given her difficult situation. Ultimately, I want to be "doing what I like to do and making a living doing it. Biofeedback and Neurofeedback works, but one must be patient". ADNC exceeded my expectations and I would refer them to others. Train your brain!

Family's response
Her mother's experience with the process was "I'd like to say thank you! Thank you! Thank you! This has been so helpful what you are doing for and around C.L. Thanks again. We look forward to being able to meet you in person in the future."

C.L.
Burnaby, BC
May-November 2010

20 year old woman with Anxiety, Moodiness, Frustration, Dizziness, Anger, with a previous history of abuse and Suicide Attempt. Right sided Motor Vehicle Accident 1 year prior and "didn't get along with anyone"

Clinical Findings:
38 symptoms on the checklist were reported. After being kicked out of her family home one month after commencing therapy, by the following month the client had 6.425 sessions and was able to now concentrate in class and reported being more focused, attentive, and understands instructions now. Though she was still losing her temper with local businesses during working hours, she reported improvement. After 28.425 sessions, this was reduced to 16, a 58% improvement in symptoms reported.

Outcomes:
After 25 sessions, the client no longer was no longer being scored as clinical on the Test of Variables of Attention (a continuous performance test). Her scores went from omitting 2.46% and 5.98% after 14 minutes and increased stimulus. By the 25th session, she made no errors in inattention in a 30 minute test. Her impulsivity was initally 6.35% the first 7 minutes, 5.56% the following 7 minutes, and 59% and 52% when stimulus increased after 14 and 21 minutes. This was subsequently reduced to 0%, .79%, 5.56%, and 0% under the same time frame and conditions within 5 months.

The client's Wender-Utah ADHD scale was initially assessed at 82 out of the 46 criteria. After 25 sessions, this reduced to 35, a 57% reduction of symptoms. After 31 sessions, this reduced further to 21, an additional 38.2% improvement or a 290% improvement from her initial symptoms.

She scored depression at 14, anxiety at 9, and stress at 21 on the Depression Anxiety Stress Scale 42 scale upon initial presentation. After 13.92 sessions over 10 visits within 2.5 months, her depression reduced to 1, a 92.8% reduction; anxiety to 5, a 44.4% reduction; and stress to 16, a 23.4% reduction in reported symptoms. By 22.925 sessions, her depression was 3, anxiety was reduced further to 2, a 77.8% improvement, and stress was 11, a 48% improvement since commencement. After 28.5 sessions over 4.75 months and a number of stressful moves and employment changes, she managed to keep her depression at 4, anxiety at 4, a 55.6% improvement and better managed stress that she reduced her score further to 5, a 76.2% improvement. A subsequent job loss occured, yet the client maintained her depression at 1, a 93% improvement, anxiety rose slightly to 6, a 33% improvement, and stress increased to 11 but still was a 48% improvement since inital presentation. 33 sessions were provided in total a new career position was secured.

Client's Experience:
"I day dream less now and have become more focused with what's going on around me. I've more patience with people and work towards diffusing situations. I'm less volitile and can communicate more fluently. I am able to now shut down negative thoughts and anxiety at will. Sometimes I still have a bad temper, but it's less severe now. I still day dream here and there, but it's more controllable." "I am more professional, polite, positive, and have more self-control than before. I am getting along with people better now than before."

"I needed help" and ADNC is "confidential, cool, and met my expectations." I would refer them to others. Moreover, "if you feel as if are going crazy, go experience neurotherapy!"

L.D.
Burnaby, BC
November 2009-May 2010

50 year old female with ADHD, facial muscle spasms, and codependency

"Neurofeedback reduced my irritability and anger considerably." When initially assessed she was experiencing 37 symptoms. Her Wender Utah ADHD rating scored as both inattentive and hyperactive and interfered with her work and daily life. At the end of the training process, she no longer scored on any of these indicators. Initially, her depression was rated at 4, anxiety was 7, and stress was 10 on the DASS 21. By the end of her training, she had secured her ideal career and has achieve independence once again. "I loved the relaxed home/office setting. The services are good. Teresa is a real warm and supportive, very human. She exceeded my expectations. Especially Teresa's humanistic approach." Biofeedback is a system that helped me to read better, reduce my anxiety, improve my focus, and the benefits are I am now aware while driving with less possibility to have accidents. I read faster and understand more because I have less ruminating thoughts. I am eating less and now I can hold myself where before I would throw myself to food. Now I can go deep into an activity until I get it done. I am more persistent, and when my head gets filled that I don't know what to do, I can stop, breath, and effectively tell myself slow down and be less impulsive. I don't feel the anger I felt before!

A.F.
Vancouver, BC
2010

29 year old female with ADHD, depression, stress, and anxiety complaints

This young woman intially presented with a depression scale of 20, anxiety of 6, and stress of 16 on the DASS12. She reported 23 symptoms when she first presented. She felt awkward talking to people and scored on all Wender Utah ADHD scales of inattention as well as hyperactivity reporting 76 out of a criteria of 46. Her Adult ADHD Self Report Scale (ASRS-1.1) was 6/4 meeting all ADHD criteria.

"I knew I needed help. I was ready for a change my lifestyle. I have noticed I try to manage my anger and emotions. I have better interactions when speaking to others now, especially at work. I have more patience with the children at work and I find that I am getting better at controlling my anger and frustration. I haven't taken any medication" now that I have learned "to listen to my inner self and increase my social skills while managing my needy behaviour."

I liked that Teresa is laid back and I don't have to share my personal experiences" if I don't want to. "You don't ask me to share things I'm not comfortable with and it's self-paced. Her voice is assuring and she knows what she is doing". Biofeedback with Teresa is relaxing. I really enjoyed the time. My stress melts away and the experience is comforting and reassuring, like a security blanket." In the end, "it's a fantastic experience. I find it to be a great way to relieve stress, talk about general day to day situations. It has made me become aware of why I feel a certain way and why I used to lose interest or focus quickly. I believe that I have learned about my brain and methods to rectify it so my interest and focus is sustained."

N.A.
Vancouver, BC
2010

14 year old male with ADHD, Inattentive, Oppositional, Defiance, Anger, Flaring Temper, Cognitive Difficulties, Sleep Disturbances, Migraines and Lacking Motivation in a Modified Educational Program for at Risk Kids called Streetfront

Upon initial presentation, this young man was "wasting far too much time doodling or taking his peers off task". He had poor attention to detail, would jump to the end of the process without completing the required interim steps. He would have inconsistent effort and would skip class whenever possible. After 80 sessions conducted over 54 visits and within a 5 month intensive period, his academic performance improved from 35% in Socials, 55% in Science, 53% in English, and 59% in Physical Education. At one point, his grades fell as low as 30% in Socials. Upon completion of training, this younge gentleman now has excellent attendence, helps out around the home with daily responsibilities, and completes his required homework on a daily basis while still at school.

His initial Wender Utah score was 35/46 criteria and upon completion this reduced to 9/46, a 74% improvement in ADHD behaviours. His Connor's Rating was 80 suggesting a significant problem of hyperactivity, inattention, cognitive problems, opposition, emotional lability, and social weaknesses. His inattention was 8/6 and impulsivity was 8/6 upon initial presentation and 3 months later after 46 sessions he had lowered both to 0/6, a 100% reduction of symptom intensity. His ADHD Self-Report Scale (ASRS-v1.1) was 6/4 upon his initial assessment and this reduced to 4/4 after 44 sessions over 31 visits. Upon conclusion of training at 78.5 sessions over 54 visits, his score reduced further to 1/4, an 83% improvement in symptoms.

His Depression was 3/27, Anxiety was 0, and Stress was 7/27 upon initial assessment. By the 35th session over 24 visits in 2.25 months, this reduced to only reflecting stress of 2/27, a 100% improvement in depression and anxiety, and a 71% improvement in stress. After 78.5 sessions over 54th visit across 5.75 months, his stress increased as he was being recommended for summer school to catch up on missed material during his fall and spring term. This of course also increased his depression slightly to 1/27. Overall, there still remained a 66% improvement in depression, his anxiety rose slightly 33% and his stress increased as well 85%.

Client's Comments
"I liked biofeedback because it is easy to do school work now and I can pay attention in class better. It helped me with sports because I can concentrate better and make decisions faster. It also helped me with getting to sleep sooner and I can also wake up quicker. I have noticed the effects of biofeedback quite quickly. It took only a few weeks for biofeedback to help me stop getting off task or distracted at school and I can sit for long periods of time without getting restless now. I would recommend biofeedback for anyone because it's easy, fast, and effective.

Jack H.

Mother's Comments
Alot of people including teachers noticed how much he has improved. He now wakes up on his own and he is much calmer, gets all his work done before going out, and the school is now planning on transfering Jack back over to a regular academic program from the modified one. I am very pleased with the results within only 6 months!

8 year old male with autism, sensory integration, balance, social interactions, & language difficulties

This boy presented with a sensory integration. His TOVA score was -4.94. All quarters were not within normal limits. The commission errors upon initial assessment were 0%, 0.8%, 15.15%, and 11.11% in the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th quarter. His ommission errors were 2.78%, 5.56%, 0.79%, and 9.09% in the respective periods. Even his response time was far slower than the norm for his age at 1%ile, 1%ile, 8%ile, and .2%ile. 54 sessions were provided over 40 appointments spanning over 2.5 months.

Post training, the client's symptoms improved 24%. His despression, anxiety, emotional sensitivity, irritability, fear, inattention, opposition, and obsessive-compulsive behaviour reduced in severity. He also demonstrated a reduction in tics, frustration, aggression, tantrums, holding of grudges, and how much he was being teased by peers. His sleep talking, soiling, perfectionism, slow processing and response, migraines, autistic symptoms, nightmares, and sugar cravings also improved. His mother also noted enhanced empathy, language skills, math concepts, motivation, social cues, eye contact, sequential processing, patience, sleep, drawing and spatial skills, as well as social skills and integration. The initial severity of symptoms was reported as being scored at 300 whereby after 2.5 months of training they had reduced to 230.

His Wender-Utah score initially showed 9 out of the 6 criteria for inattention and only 2 out of 6 for hyperactivity and impulsivity symptoms.

The client's mother expressed improvements in his coordination and playing with other children in the playground, fine and gross motor skills as well as socialising. He now understands simple jokes and laughs at more appropriate times. Though he still needs to be prompted regarding social cues, he is much more humerous, and has an improved social awareness, command of language, and attention. At the beginning of training, he was not able to kick a ball in motion, whereby after only 11 sessions he can. He is using more expressions now. He used to disagree with other children, pretended to hit and punch them, and refused help from his aid. Now, he is listening and thinking more as well as asking more questions.

In addition, he is doing well at school, following his schedule, and can now play games on the computer independently, which he was not able to do prior to commencing neurofeedback. Furthermore, he is now thinking about other things beyond himself asking excellent questions such as "How do I make this machine start to work?" This client's attachment to his family had prevented the mother from having a break or being able to have respite. Now this clients' attachment to his family decreased and he no longer cryied for a week when his grandparents depart back home.

Billy,
Vancouver, BC
September 2008-January 2009

40 year old female with previous Motor Vehicle Accident & subsequent head impact, trauma, depression, anxiety & fatigue

I have received biofeedback training at the ADNC Neurofeedback Centre for half a year. I am very impressed with the results I have seen to date. Prior to discovering this therapy, I had seen many physicians and psychologists who tried to get me back on track, but through traditional pharmaceuticals and talk therapy.

My main issue was depression, but through my sessions with ADNC, I have learned that depression is more than just a psychological issue.

Through the process, I have been able to withdraw completely from my anti-depressant medication. I am also learning more about how my brain function had been impacting my depressive and anxious symptoms. Considering my preference for a holistic, non'invasive approach to treatment, I am grateful I was introduced to biofeedback. Unfortunately, the benefits of biofeedback are not as well known or recognized as medications as an appropriate form of treatment for conditions such as mine, but being the person experiencing the condition and witnessing the results I have achieved, I feel that biofeedback is the absolute best way to treat conditions normally treated traditionally with medications and other methods. As an alternative, I would recommend this treatment to anyone who is interested in getting to the root of the problem and changing it, rather than simply masking the symptoms.

L.O.
Surrey, BC
Aug 2008-2009

44 year Old Woman Falls Asleep spontaneously & Yawns Chronically

When most people have problems falling asleep, I had problems staying awake. My brain has trained itself to be a "brain-racer" on a Beta wave length speed track. When the alert behaviour is no longer necessary, my brain goes to sleep, shutting down its functions quickly and efficiently to save energy. It was embarrassing that as a yoga teacher, when doing a Savasana (Sanskrit for Corpse Pose) or enjoying a friendly conversation, I am constantly yawning and struggling to stay alert and focused. More then embarrassing, it is dangerous as I need to be able to drive a car. No, it is not due to boredom...it is just how my brain had learned to function. My brain didn't know how to stay awake and relaxed anymore. My alpha range was out of range.

The solution to my problem turn out to be literally around the corner. In the office, on 16th Ave and Granville, Vancouver, a neurofeedback specialist, Teresa de La Boursodière is helping people like me. Teresa has given me an opportunity to feel what it is like to be awake and relaxed. After only a couple of intense sessions, I felt an improvement. I can not only meditate now and remain awake, but I can also dream during my sleep. Teresa's skills, knowledge and state-of-the art medical equipment retrained my brain, allowing me to stay alert and but relaxed for longer periods of time. The results left me with an enhanced enjoyment of life, higher productivity and she may have actually saved my life.

Thank you, Teresa.

Anna S.
Kamloops, BC
2008

18 year old Mother: Motor Vehicle Accident and Brain Injury at age 3

My son was injured in a car accident when he was just less than 3 years old. The resulting factor was severe brain trauma. He was also diagnosed ADHD and was put on Ritalin when he was 5. The drug did calm him down but interfered with his day to day living...he was a walking zombie and it affected his appetite.

It was later established in the school system during grade 1 and 2 that the normal teaching curriculum was not going to work in his case. This resulted in frustration on his part, for not being able to learn like his peers and for being treated differently leading to behavioral problems within the learning environment as well as at home.

After years of Doctors, teachers and counselors, I was very frustrated and so was my son. His present school counselor suggested I go to a support group. I went and heard another mother talking about Neurofeedback and what it has done for her daughter. I thought what the heck... I have tried everything else. Why not give it a chance? So I made an appointment with Teresa. That was a little over a year ago. There have been definite positive changes with my son within the first few months. The changes began very subtle and became quite significant. His confidence and social interaction with others has improved. There have also been major changes with his memory and adaptability. Smaller changes I have noticed include improvement in his speech, articulation, memory, and even mannerisms.

For a person with a long-term brain trauma any changes, however slight, is a BIG deal. I have seen changes in my son that wouldn't have come about without the training and support received from ADNC. Although my son may never be 100 percent...I never expected him to be. But I did see changes and have been more than pleased with the outcome of this adventure.

If I had to do this over again would I? Yes not only would I do this again...If I knew about this sooner I would have done it sooner so his school experiences would have been better. My only regret with Neurofeedback is that I didn't know about it sooner. Would I recommend it to other people? Yes I would.

Any cautions I would advise? Rejoice in all your changes you get. It may take a while, as with my son, but they do come in small and big doses. Thank you for taking the time to read this and good luck in your adventure with this treatment.

Kelly W. S.
Port Coquitlam, BC
October 20, 2004

7.5 year old ADHD boy with severe learning disability

My son was 6.5 years old when he was diagnosed with ADHD and severe verbal learning disability. It was actually a relief to finally know what the causes were for his abnormal behaviours. He was impulsive, hyperactive, obsessive, moody and aggressive. Since we strongly disagree with giving children psychotrophic medications, we decided to try neurofeedback therapy first. Kevin liked it right away since it was like a computer game and it appeals to his strong visual ability.

Within 3 months after starting the therapy twice a week, we began noticing improvement in Kevin's hyperactivity, impulsivity and verbal ability. We were actually able to start teaching him the way we teach our other two children. While starting him with private speech therapy (it would have taken over a year before he received any support through the public health system), I started taking ADHD parenting classes and reading as much as I could to learn about special behaviour modification techniques for ADHD children. One year later our son is behaving almost like any other normal child you would meet anywhere, any day thanks to ADNC Neurofeedback Centre of BC.

I feel neurofeedback therapy has helped our son the most in reducing his hyperactivity and impulsivity while improving his attention span and verbal abilities. He can now function normally on a day to day basis. I know ADHD is a condition that would stay with our son for the rest of his life. However, it doesn't have to be something that prevents him from reaching his full potential and leading a happy and successful life.

My advice to other parents would be to have hope. Don't just rely on medication as being the 'magic pills...that will solve the problems. The "alternative" treatment and a healthy dose of guidance and discipline with endless parental love is all the ADHD child needs to turn around and become successful. Thanks for everything

Lin C.
Vancouver, BC
December 13, 2003

Male Age 18 experienced improved academic performance, focus and concentration with less trouble dealing with workload and reduced day dreaming.

Since I started sessions of neurofeedback, I have come to notice changes not only in my academic life, but also in my personal realm. An increase of concentration ability during school classes was the first sign of this. My grades started to increase as I was able to absorb more material in class and I had less trouble dealing with my workload at home. I seemed to be more rested and stopped taking my afternoon naps as I felt more alert coming home from school and did not require so much sleep. My focusing abilities have increased, I find I am a better "listener" in conversations, and do not daydream or drift off as much as I used to.

Thanks for making a difference.

Rob
October 1997

Father of an ADHD 17 year old son

B. was home all of June/July and then hitchhiked to Kelowna in August. He now has a job in Kelowna and last weekend we helped him get settled into his own apartment. He is on cloud 9. He told me he has been hoping for this since he was 8 years old. From all reports he is doing well. He has his Rialin and Dexedrin with him but has not taken any since he last saw you.

My wife made the comment that for the past year we have been talking at B., but now he is talking to us. It's great.

Thank you and take care.

J.J.
September 12, 1996


NEWS
Many people who have a range of mental illness or other symptoms can improve through learning how to self-regulate, manage their symptoms and take conscious steps to change their choices, and ultimately, outcomes. Sometimes, all that is needed is encouragement and the tools to accomplish one's goals.

www.newideas.net